Cibo

image

I’m always finding it difficult to find a trendy kid-friendly place for dinner now that we have our little one.  Cibo offers family dining between 5 – 7pm so we had an early dinner here on Sunday.  My sister-in-law has been here many times and loves it.  First of all, I love the space!  The tables aren’t crammed together so you’re sitting elbow to elbow and can hear your neighbours conversation.  I also love that this restaurant is super baby and kid friendly.  There were at least 3 other families there with their baby and toddlers while we were there.  And, since I had mentioned that we required a high chair when I made the reservation, there was already one at our table when we arrived.

image

We started off with 3 scodellinas for $11.

image

The Roasted Eggplant was our favorite among the three.  It was very creamy with hints of goat cheese and sundried tomatoes.  I think we could’ve eaten this by the spoonful.

image

The Bruschetta was also very good.  I would consider this to be more of an artichoke than a tomato bruschetta but since we love artichoke we really enjoyed it.

image

The Country Pork Terrine was also quite good but since my hubby and I split this dish it was hard to really get a true taste of it.  The pickled celery root and cranberry mustard paired really well with the pork.

image

My sister-in-law ordered the Gnocchi $16, a dish she orders every time she dines here.  It’s filled with spinach, artichoke, lemon, basil and ricotta salata.  I had a taste of the gnocchi and it was very tender and light.  She really enjoyed this dish.

image

My hubby had the Wild Boar Bacon Pizza $18.  He loved the crust and enjoyed the overall flavors of the pizza.  I tried a slice and found it quite meaty – no wonder he enjoyed it.  I did find that the bottom of the crust was slightly burnt.

image

I had the Mushroom Pizza $17 and unfortunately did not enjoy it because it was very very bland.  It was in dire need of some seasoning.  After eating 3 slices, I asked our server if there was something I could dip the crust in.  He brought over a small bowl of chili oil.  The chili oil was a nice condiment, not spicy at all, but rather on the sweet side.  I managed to eat another 2 slices with the addition of the chili oil.  I had the other 2 slices packed up to go and I found it in my car two days later and didn’t even miss it.  I was actually quite surprised to find it in my car and that just goes to show how little I enjoyed it.

image

I was really looking forward to dessert since my pizza was a bust.  I ordered the Dark Chocolate Date Budini $7.  It’s accompanied with a white chocolate gelato, salted caramel sauce and cocoa nibs.  I thoroughly enjoyed this and thought everything was well executed.  The budini was still warm and I loved having each bite with some of the gelato and salted caramel.

image

My hubby ordered the Pumpkin Cheesecake $7.  It came topped with roasted apples, oat streusel, creme fraiche and a side of cranberry sauce.  The pumpkin cheesecake itself was good but they over-spiced the roasted apples and that overpowered the entire dessert.  All I could taste was the overpowering flavors of ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg.  We also felt that the cranberry sauce was unnecessary.

image

My sister-in-law ordered the Cappuccino Gelato $7 per scoop.  The gelato was really good but I thought the price was pretty steep for just one scoop.

image

Overall, I’d say the food was a bit underwhelming.  I expected more bold Italian flavors – perhaps we just didn’t make the right choices.  The service was also off that night.  As our server poured us our waters he asked if we had been here before.  My sister-in-law answered yes but hubby and I both said no.  At that point, I thought he would go into explaining the menu to us and the family sharing concept but he didn’t say anything.  Our wine glasses were also left on the table even though we said we were not having anything to drink.  After we were served our entrees, I was waiting for our server to come around to ask us how our meal was but this never happened.  I had to actively search him out to ask if there was a condiment I could dip my pizza crust in.  He did try to interact with our baby and I give him props for trying but he seemed quite awkward as if he didn’t really know what to do or say.  I know others have had great meals here so I’m definitely interested in returning and trying some of their other offerings.

Cibo

1012 17 Ave SW
Calgary, AB T2T 0A5

Cibo on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

