Fat Kee Noodle House

image

Fat Kee Noodle House is my favorite place for cheap and quick Chinese food.  I particularly enjoy their noodle dishes and we venture down here whenever a craving strikes.  The restaurant is usually run by one server who does everything and she’s usually running off her feet when the place gets busy.  The decor is bland and dreary with faded pictures of their dishes on the window but don’t let that deter you because they serve up some great food.

image

One of my favorite noodle dishes there is the Soy Sauce Fried Noodles $6.75.  It consists of just noodles, bean sprouts, onions and green onions but I love the simplicity of it.  The most important aspect of this dish is that it must be fried with enough “wok breathe” (wok hei) and this one definitely is because you taste it.

image

My other favorite noodle dish is the Fried Noodle with Beef $9.25.  When I was pregnant with my son I constantly craved for this dish and at that time I thought Fat Kee’s was far superior to everyone else’s.  However, tasting it again after I gave birth didn’t prove to be true.  It was still really good but it didn’t satisfy me in a way that it did before.  Perhaps my taste buds were askew during pregnancy which really doesn’t surprise me considering all of the changes going on with my body.

image

Their Sweet and Sour Pork $7.95 is pretty decent.  The pork is a bit too battered but I like that it still retains that crunchy texture after being dressed in the sweet and sour sauce.  I really hate it when I order this dish and the fried pork pieces are soggy or the batter is falling off.  The sweet and sour sauce has a nice balance as well.

image

We also ordered the Salt and Pepper Squid $12.50 since we haven’t had it in a long time.  This dish arrived piping hot and I enjoyed the spice level of this dish.  The squid is tender and not chewy, although battered a bit more than I like but overall it was quite good.

Fat Kee Noodle House is a great place for cheap, quick and decently sized Chinese food.  I’ve tried numerous dishes here and have never been disappointed.  Note to families with little ones, this place only has one booster seat available so for those with a baby/toddler you’re out of luck if its already taken.

Fat Kee Noodle House

345-3132 26 St NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 6Z1

Fat Kee Noodle House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

