Sushi Bar Zipang

image

My friend W and I met up for lunch recently and decided on going for sushi. I’ve wanted to try Sushi Bar Zipang for the longest time and suggested that we go there. They were great at accommodating a baby and a toddler and even had baby utensils and plates set out for us.

We both decided on their Sushi and Sashimi Lunch Combo ($16.50). It comes with miso soup and a choice of salad or rice. We both opted for the salad.

image

The miso soup was really good and had a healthy serving of tofu and seaweed.

image

The salad was refreshing and dressed perfectly. One of my pet peeves are overdressed salads as I find it completely masks all of the ingredients and is completely unnecessary.

image

When our sushi and sashimi arrived I was surprised and impressed with the thick cuts of tuna and salmon on the platter. The fish was all super fresh and had a nice sweetness to it.  The natural sweetness in the salmon was present and the tuna was creamy and soft.

image

We both love Special Scallop Nigri ($3.50/pc) and agree that a sushi meal would not be complete without it. To date, this is by far the best Special Scallop Nigiri I have ever had. The scallop was super fresh and I could taste the sweetness of it coming through the mayo. I also loved that there was an ample amount of the scallop mixture with only just enough rice to support it. It is on the pricier side but I feel it’s worth every penny as you’re definitely paying for quality here and the freshness cannot be beat.

image

We also tried a few appetizers from their dinner menu. The first to arrive were the Deep Fried Oysters with Ponzu Sauce ($6.80). These were deep fried well with a light batter and were crispy.

image

When I read that there was Deep Fried Eggplant with Sweetened Miso Paste ($6.80) on the menu I was quite intrigued and interested on trying it as I love eggplant. When the server set this down in front of us we both exclaimed that this was not what we were expecting. We thought the eggplant would be cut into strips or cubes and served with a sweetened miso paste. The eggplant itself tasted great and was creamy however there was way too much sweetened miso paste on it. It completely overpowered the eggplant and practically made the dish inedible.

We really enjoyed our meal and I was definitely impressed with the quality of the fish that was served. Their lunch combos are also a better value than their dinner menu. Service was pretty attentive and they stopped by to check up on us several times. W insisted on paying for our meal despite argument from me but she said that we shouldn’t argue about the bill like Chinese people – haha ok then!  So next time, lunch is on me!

image

A week later I was craving for more sushi and returned for lunch again. My friend Peaches texted me about half an hour before I was heading out to see what I had planned for lunch and since her plans fell through we were able to meet up.

image

We started with the Maguro Yukke ($5.50). We were informed by the server that everything was to be mixed together with a splash of soy sauce. I really enjoyed this and thought it would be particularly good served onto a bed of rice.

image

We also decided to share a hot item and thought that the Sweet Potato Tempura ($6) was quite good. The batter was light and crispy – a true sign that they were deep fried well. The sweet potato was still toothsome and not mushy. The tempura dipping sauce was a tad on the bland side though and could stand to be a bit more seasoned.

Peaches decided to have the Sushi and Sashimi lunch combo but since I had that last time I went with the Sashimi Lunch Combo ($18.50). It also comes with miso soup and a choice of rice or salad.

image

Since I was having sashimi I went with the rice as I need to have some sort of carb in my meal. Hey, I’m Asian can you blame me?

image

The sashimi was really fresh. The scallop had a sweetness that I’ve never tasted elsewhere in Calgary. The tako was actually tender, sweet and crunchy not chewy like I’ve had elsewhere. The salmon with its natural sweetness and fattiness was a joy to eat and the tuna was creamy and soft. I was once again really impressed with the freshness and quality of the fish here.

image

Naturally, we had to order Special Scallop Nigiri ($3.50/pc) since we both love it and I enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It’s so good that I actually cave for this all the time!

image

Peaches decided that she wanted to try one of their rolls so she ordered the Negihama Roll ($6). I tried a piece and really enjoyed it as well. The hamachi tasted great and had a buttery mouth feel.

We had a fantastic meal here and it has become one of my favorite sushi restaurants in Calgary. The prices are on the high side but their lunch combos are a pretty good value given the quality of the fish.

Sushi Bar Zipang

1010 1 Ave NE
Calgary, AB T2E 7W7

Sushi Bar Zipang on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

