Vendome Cafe

image

I love going out for breakfast but I hate having to wait especially since I’m usually starving in the mornings.  My friend J and I met up for breakfast at Vendome Café and I was quite happy to find that they had a steady stream of customers but it wasn’t so bad that we weren’t able to get a seat right away.

I really loved the atmosphere of this place.  It was very inviting and also meant that you could drop in for a quick bite, catch up with friends or bring your laptop and chill out for a few hours.  The space is bright and the seats aren’t so close together that you can hear your neighbors conversation.  It was perfect for us.

image

It was really difficult trying to decide what I wanted to have since I wanted to try several things on the menu.  It didn’t help that they also had refrigerator case showing off their desserts either.  But since, I was recently on a dessert/pastry binge I decided I should try to control myself and skip having anything sweet that day.

image

I decided to try their Mushroom Benedict (half order $11) and their Duck Confit Panini (half order $7).  The mushroom benedict was excellent and the hollandaise sauce was done really well.   The earthy savory mushrooms really took to the hollandaise and I would be happy to order this again.  I didn’t realize that it came with a side of potatoes but really enjoyed every single piece.  The potatoes were well roasted but the best part were the bits of caramelized onions laced throughout it.  I’m a huge fan of caramelized onions and loved the crispy, sweet burnt bits.

image

I knew I had to order the Duck Confit Panini because so many people have raved about how good it is and I was dying to try it.  Well, it certainly lived up to its expectations.  I immediately tasted the truffle flavor from the truffle aoili with my first bite and it was so good that I zoned out for a minute just enjoying my Panini.  It comes with a side of apple jam which I wasn’t sure about at first but it turned out to be a great combination.  I found that it helped to cut the richness of the Panini and the apple paired really well with the duck and the caramelized onions.  The bread was crispy on the outside but yet remained light and fluffy on the inside.  The side of coleslaw was tangy and I liked that it wasn’t overly dressed and covered with mayo.  I totally recommend this dish!

image

J had the Francis’ Open Faced Sausage n’ Egg Sandwich ($10) with berkshire sausage, lettuce and tomato.  She really enjoyed it but I didn’t taste it so I can’t make any comments.

image

We sat around catching up after our meal and found that we were really comfortable hanging out there. For parents with little ones, you’ll be happy to know that they do have a high chair available.  I know I’m always wondering if these places are kid friendly.  I will definitely be back and can’t wait to try more items on the menu – hopefully something sweet next time.

Vendome Cafe

940 2nd Ave. NW
Calgary, AB T2N 0E6

Vendome Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

