Kimchi Stew

Kimchi Stew

It has been quite chilly in Calgary lately and on these cold winter nights I always crave for something warm and comforting.  Something to warm me from my head to my toes.  I settled on making kimchi stew as I had a jar of kimchi sitting in my fridge that I needed to use up.  Strangely, I was also craving for tofu so this was the perfect solution.  The stew turned out really well and was incredibly satisfying.  I actually wished it was spicier so next time I’ll add an additional teaspoon or two of hot pepper paste.  We ate this with plain white rice and felt that was the perfect accompaniment.

Kimchi Stew (Adapted from Maangchi)

Ingredients

  • 200 grams of  sliced pork belly (about 1/2 pound)
  • 4 or 5 cups of chopped kimchi
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp hot pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp hot pepper paste
  • 300 grams of tofu
  • 1 pkg of enoki mushrooms
  • 4 fish balls, sliced
  • sesame oil
  • water

Directions

  1. In a medium sized pot, add the chopped kimchi and kimchi liquid.
  2. Add the sugar, hot pepper flakes, hot pepper paste and pork belly.  Pour in enough water into the pot so that all the ingredients are submerged.
  3. Turn the stove onto high and bring to a boil.  Once it has come to a boil, cover and turn the heat down to medium-low and allow to boil lightly for 25-30 minutes.
  4. Remove the lid, add the tofu, enoki mushrooms and sliced fish balls to the pot.  Turn the heat back to high and allow to boil for 5 minutes.
  5. Drizzle in sesame oil and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

