Dumplings, Potstickers or whatever you want to call them


If there’s one thing you’ll always find in my freezer is a bag (or two) of dumplings. It’s something that I must always keep on hand for a quick meal or snack. My favorite are meaty dumplings with a fair amount of visible vegetables. Why? Well, because then I feel like I’m eating my portion of vegetables along with the meat and carbs. Win-win, right? 
I don’t know about you but I’ve noticed how pricey those freezer dumplings have become at my local supermarket. The quality has also gone down. Don’t get me wrong; those will do in a bind but they’re definitely not my first choice. 

What’s my first choice? Homemade, of course. How can you beat that? So when I have some extra free time I’ll make 200-300 and freeze them so I’ll always have some ready to go. My go-to is always ground pork with a healthy dose of whatever vegetables/greens I can get my hands on. Spinach, bok chiu, mustard greens, kale, watercress, cabbage. Seriously, they all taste great in dumplings. The key is to ensure you blanch them, squeeze all the water out of them and then finely finely chop so you get any stringy bits. 


To ensure you get the proper texture for the meat you’ll want to add a fair amount of water to the mixture and stir, stir, stir with a pair of chopsticks. I also like to add shaoxing wine for added flavor. Now, that’s how you get a tasty and moist dumpling filling without it being dry. 

Have you made your own dumplings? What’s your favorite filling combination? 

Leave a Reply

