Katsuten

I’m always a sucker for crispy deep fried foods. I mean who isn’t? When Katsuten popped up on my radar I was just counting the days until I tried it. You can count me in for crispy crunchy pork loin anyday.


“Mom, what should we order? I’m hungry.” “Don’t worry, sweetie. I already know.” I was watching a Hong Kong food show not too long ago where a group of celebrities ventured to Japan to try a variety of foods to review/showcase them. One of the dishes they tried really stood out to me due to its uniqueness. It was a Japanese curry udon with a piped potato cream on top. It looked absolutely delicious and I was already planning to recreate it at home when I saw that Katsuten offered it on their menu. Well, surely I had to try it!


We started off with the Lotus Root Salad. Thinly shaved fried lotus root chips sitting over a bed of shaved onions and dressing. It was quite tasty although I’m not sold on naming it a salad. There’s nothing that shouts salad to me. It’s more like lotus root chips. It was also on the pricier side at $6.50 for the portion.


The Katsu came with a miso soup. This one is pretty standard. It was piping hot with firm pieces of tofu.

This is the Loin Katsu made with Glamorgan Bakery bread crumbs. Now if you haven’t tried Glamorgan Bakery’s famous cheese buns, you’re missing out on some of the best cheese buns hands down. But that’s for another post. Their breadcrumbs added a nice fluffy and crunchy coating to the pork loin. My only disappointment was that the bottom of the katsu was soggy. Shame. The pork itself was quite tender and juicy. The shredded cabbage side was a nice addition topped with a sweet dressing. It almost tasted like apple sauce to me.


Now, the dish I came to try, the Creamy Curry Udon. The server told us to expect hot curry noodles underneath the cold potato cream. I could barely wait to dig in.

The potato cream on top was heavenly. Imagine whipped cream but instead the creamiest potatoes ever. Underneath was a mild curry with udon and vegetables. I ended up mixing it all together and slurping down every last bit of it. That is after I ate a few spoonfuls of the potato cream alone. Simply delightful ! I wished the portion was larger! 

Overall, a tasty meal. I would return for the creamy curry udon however I found the portion sizes to be on the small side. I feel like you would need to order three entrees between two people to fill up. They seemed to be consistently steady through lunch time on a weekday. The restaurant itself is small so I wouldn’t come with a large group. The plus side is that they do have high chairs for those parents dining with young ones. 

Katsuten Japanese Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

