Blue Star Diner 

As much as I love taking my time in the mornings and lazily making my way downstairs and cooking breakfast, there’s something to be said about going out for breakfast and having someone else serve you. As my hubby says, “it’s nice to have someone else serve you coffee once in a while.” We don’t go out for breakfast very often compared to lunch or dinner. Simply because on the weekends the waits to get into some of the breakfast places around Calgary can be downright frightful. With two kids, the last thing I want to do is wait 45 minutes to an hour for a table. I often wished more places took reservations just to make things easier on families.

The only time I really get a chance to hit up a breakfast place around town is when hubby and I both happen to be off during the weekday. Our go-to place is usually OEB on Edmonton Trail. However, we wanted to try something different this time and after browsing through various menus I settled on Blue Star Diner. We’ve been here before for dinner and tried their burgers, which are fantastic but we’ve never tried their breakfast. We walked in around 10:30am on a weekday and easily got a table. No wait!


I usually veer towards eggs benedicts cause let’s face it. If I’m going out to eat I might as well go all out and get some hollandaise sauce in me. However, this time their was a corned lamb dish that caught my eye. The Corned Lamb Hash with cornbread sounded amazing! Slow cooked lamb, red potato hash browns, zucchini, roasted peppers, mushrooms, kale, caramelized onions, chilis, 2 poached eggs, goat feta and hollandaise. How can you say no to that? So I didn’t. And, wow! Was it ever satisfying! The lamb paired perfectly with all those vegetables and the chilis provided a nice kick to the dish.

Their eggs Benedict didn’t disappoint either. The Brisket and Caramelized Onion Benny with red potato hash was filling and another great choice. The slow cooked brisket was tender and flavorful with the caramelized onions adding a hint of sweetness to cut through the richness.

We had a fantastic breakfast here and I would love to return. We were pleasantly surprised and impressed with both dishes. Perhaps this will be our new go-to breakfast place from now on. It’s always nice to take a stroll around Bridgeland after and burn off some calories too.

Blue Star Diner Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

