Lobster Meal Ideas

Every year around Father’s Day there’s a fellow in Calgary that ships in fresh Alantic lobsters for sale with proceeds going towards a charity. This year, proceeds went towards The Calgary Humane Society. I’m always on the lookout for different ways to serve lobsters aside from eating them boiled and dipped in butter. Last year, I made lobster rolls and two types of Chinese style dishes. One was lobster stir fried with green onion and ginger and the other was lobster in a creamy sauce served over noodles. It was great but I was looking for something different this year. 

This year, I used them in three different dishes again. The first was your typical surf and turf meal. Pan seared rib eye with roasted asparagus, buttered lobster and lobster tomalley toast. Do you eat the tomalley in the lobster? I love it but it’s not for the faint of heart. It’s definitely quite high in cholesterol. I toasted some french bread, buttered it and spreaded on the cooked tomalley. Yum! This dish was hubbys favorite. 

The second was lobster eggs benedict and it was my favorite out of the three. It was really good and I think my favorite variation on eggs benedict that I’ve made between crab cake, smoked duck breast and prosciutto. The sweet and buttery lobster was fantastic with the poached eggs and lemony hollandaise sauce. I served with a lightly dressed arugula salad to cut the richness of the eggs benedict. 

Lastly, I made sushi with the lobster meat. Lobster, crab meat salad, masago, cucumber and avocado. It was excellent and a favorite with my son. He scarfed it down. 

So what are your favorite lobster dishes? I’d love to hear from you! 

Leave a Reply

