Ten Foot Henry

The Calgary dining scene like any other is forever changing. For quite some time now I’ve noticed a shift towards small/big plate and shared family style dining. Honestly, for a foodie like myself I love it. It means that I get to try multiple items on a menu and it fulfills the “my eyes are bigger than my stomach” syndrome. If that’s even a thing.

But seriously, is there anything better than sharing food? Not in my books. Friendships are made and laughs shared over food. I love it.


We celebrated a friend’s birthday at Ten Foot Henry and I’m so glad she picked this place because it has easily become one of my favorite restaurants in the city now. We started off with this lovely Roasted Carrot dish with avocado, pea shoots and pistachios. The dish was excellent with a nice combination of flavors and textures.


I’m not gonna lie. Whenever I see Asian ingredients incorporated in a menu I start to get worried. Most of the time it’s either a hit or a miss for me. This Pan Roasted Gai Lan dish was amazing though and my worries faded away. The tahini miso sauce paired perfectly with the slight bitterness of the gai lan while the fried shiitake mushrooms added a nice textural contrast and even more umaminess to the dish. This dish is a must try in my books.


The Whole Roasted Beets were done well and the dill added an interesting element to the dish. It was cooked well but not my favorite.


I always have a special place in my heart (or is it stomach, ha!) for pasta. Probably because it resembles Asian noodles so much and it’s the ultimate comfort food for me. The Caico e Pepe Bucatini was impeccable. The al dente pasta was perfectly coated with pecorino and black pepper. I’m afraid I might have been able to polish off the entire dish myself if we weren’t sharing. So good!


The Spaghetti Pomodoro was another splendid dish. Light tomato sauce with a hint of spice. It provided a nice contrast to the creamy and cheesiness of the Cacio e Pepe.


The Adobo Chicken was incredibly flavorful and  tender, literally fall of the bone. Oh, and the sauce…sublime. This is a dish that you want to eat with a bowl of rice to mop up all that sauce. Delicious!


Now that’s a beautiful dish there with the pink steak against those bright greens. The Chargrilled Hanger Steak was another well executed dish. I like my steak rare and this was perfect. The truffle Dijon sauce helped to cut the richness of the meat. The real winner of this dish for me were the grilled mustard greens. I’ve never had mustard greens grilled before and it blew my mind. Growing up, my mom always just stir fried it or put it in soup. I love that slight bitterness of mustard greens. Let me tell you, I’m going to start grilling my mustard greens from now on. Utterly amazing and superb!


We were beyond stuffed at this point but it was a birthday celebration after all and you really can’t go without dessert. We decided to share the Avocado Chocolate Torte. The avocado chocolate filling was smooth and not too sweet. The raw crust wasn’t really to my liking however. It reminded me of an eat more chocolate bar crossed with a larabar. I guess this dessert was just too “healthy” for my liking. I think next time I’ll try the coconut cake or the butterscotch pudding.

We really enjoyed our meal here and it was thumbs up all around. If there’s one thing Ten Foot Henry does well is cook vegetables and showcase them in new and unique ways. This is an excellent place to bring vegetarians. I’m already counting down the days to my next visit. For any parents out there, kids are welcomed here and they have at least one high chair. However, they cannot accommodate parties larger than eight.

Leave a Reply

